Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Standing at games

edited March 2011 in General Charlton
http://www.fsf.org.uk/petitions/safestanding.php
A petition to bring back safe standing at football grounds. I always have to go to the back when i go to the Valley so I can stand without getting shouted out. I think this is a good idea and will create a better atmosphere and make games more exciting. Plus standing will be a cheaper option. I've signed it and i'm hoping some of you lot will to, and if your on any other forums please pass this on.

Comments

• Options
    More like clubs will charge the same for standing and increase seat prices to pay for the expense of modifying areas to be standing again.

Would love terraced areas back but I can't see current all seater stadiums doing it.
  • Options
    I'm no expert, but I should think that some of the more modern stadiums would have to be heavily modified to allow standing as it was not in the original design. Older grounds such as ours would be less trouble.
  • Options
    edited March 2011
    I will be signing the petition, even though I don't wish to stand myself.

Many of those who argue against the safe standing movement state that standing will never be as safe as all seater stadiums. However, is safe standing (using terraces like those shown in the picture if you follow the link above) safer than standing in front of a seat? (That is a genuine question, not a wind up.)

If the answer to the above question is yes, then I don't really understand an argument against safe standing unless the police/stewards/whoever are going to force people to sit down in their seats at games.
  • Options
    We need to remember the deaths that have occurred when rival supporters tangle, or Police/Stewards allow overcrowding. I was always very happy to stand even if you did have to find a place where your kids could see, but seated areas are the future.
  • Options