Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Summer 2022 transfer rumours (Gilbey loan confirmed p513, a signing falls through last minute p541)

Comments

• Options
    Cafc43v3r said:
    Redhenry said:
    mendonca said:
    Redhenry said:
    Sorry not a rumour. Don't think anybody thought Washington was a bad player for League 1. The problem was his salary.. 
    Didn't realise his salary was the issue?
    When he signed, I received a text saying it was a bonkers signing, as was using a large part of our salary capped budget...
    When we signed Washington and Gilbey I was told we might struggle to get enough bodies in under the cap because their salaries were so,  relatively,  high.   I still don't know who signed that off.   Any ideas? 
    Mihail.

Remember that was the cap at the time when we were under an embargo
  • Options
    I have been saying this for many years and I think a lot of people just view the issue from their own perspective. But what I have been saying is that the most important Charlton fans are the fickle ones and the ones who are not Charlton fans yet. Those that would go religiously in League 2 or the national league are to be commended but they are not important at all because they will eat any crap they are given.

The question is always, can we find more of these easily pleased people and I think there is no evidence that it is possible. A club which has a natural home in the Championship can only lose money and over time fans in the lower leagues. If we become an established league one club that will become our natural place and sadly over the last decade, that seems to be where we are settling. That isn't Sandgaard's fault but it is important we remove the chains of League One sooner rather than later and that is where we have a problem if he is incapable of doing so.