Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Scott Parker 'Big interview' in the Sun today

Comments

• Options

The other thing people overlook was the impact on Curbishley. For him, this was a very direct betrayal and left him feeling (rightly as it turned out) that it was impossible for him to take Charlton any further than mid table.

Not really sure about that.

Didn't we buy the likes of Murphy ,Rommedahl and Bent with the money?
    (Apologies for original type as @SoundAsa£ pointed out...)

He told us as much at a sponsors' dinner, so it comes from the man himself. Yes, he had money to spend, but in lots of ways, Parker was irreplaceable. He was personally quite deeply hurt by it at the time, though he soldiered on afterwards.
  • Options
    edited February 2017
    I was really pissed of at the circumstances surrounding his departure, however if he was one of my kids I would have encouraged him to join Chelsea. If I was a pro footballer and I was playing for little old Charlton and a big club like Chelski came knocking with a double wage offer, I'd be away quicker than Usain Bolt.
    If we are honest and grown up we all would......no brainer.
  • Options
    shine166 said:

Grown men, carrying a grudge for 20 years and complaining the player they hate didn't mention us in a newspaper.

I do agree with you, I still admire Scott deeply as a player and think he didn't reach his full potential because he moved on too soon and to the wrong club.

But I remember I was 10/11 when he left. He was by far my favourite player, homegrown, played in the same position as me (midfield) and was brilliant. I was completely gutted when he left and I lost interest in football for a couple of years or so because of it, along with me being far better cricket player than footballer! It just makes me sad when I see him play, that he could've been a mainstay in an England midfield and winning champions league at Man Utd.