Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Guitar players?

Comments

• Options
    it can help with an acoustic (or electric I suppose) if you capo the first fret try it and see, also on the more basic or un setup guitars the 'action' and 'intination' can be adjusted, the former will lower the strings so its not such hard work fretting, the latter make tuning easier and more precise.
  • Options
    I'll try what you said Oggy but strugling with the baring on a acoustic atm and waiting for june when I get my Les Paul. I am going to get lessons to help with the barring in september because up to know I am self taught and I know alot of chords but strugle with Baring :/ and I usualy use a capo to
  • Options
    Good luck, cafc-4.

One of the ways I taught myself barring chords on an old acoustic, was to practice the changes between a 1st position
    unbarred E major chord and F major barred 'E' shape on the first fret without sounding strings with my right hand.

There's no pressure on you for keeping rhythm and you can just focus on the chord shapes, until it gradually becomes more fluent.

I also find it better to apply pressure behind the finger board with my thumb, so the bar finger doesn't have to press so hard across the strings. Anyway, it works for me.

Once you've got the F major bar chord on the 1st fret reasonably confidently, you can just run up the fingerboard
    with a barred 'E' shape - easy to find G on the 3rd fret, A on the 5th, B on the 7th.

Loads of blues and rock songs just use those chords.

Once you get that right, do the same again with a bar 'A' shape:
    B on the 2nd fret, C on the 3rd, D on the 5th, E on the 7th, etc

If you're playing electric, then there are the simpler power chords, but that's another story!
  • Options