Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Car help!!!

edited November 2009 in Not Sports Related
Is there a mechanic amongst us?

excuse my complete lack of any car know how what so ever.

I have a vauxhall zafira 1.8 (automatic). I'm getting a bit worried. at a stand still if i rev the engine and then take my foot off the pedal the revs drop really low sounding like the engine is about to cut out. all the lights dim and then it revs up on its own a couple of times. it also happens when you drive really slowly. does this sound bad? My kam belt is nearly due btw.

Was hoping someone could give me a little heads up as i have no funds to take it in somewhere but still need to get to work. any advise would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    Im no mechanic I'm afraid but I do know that Vauxhalls are notorious for cam belt problems.
  • Options
    edited November 2009
    The fault you describe is not cam belt related. However if the cam belt is at it's 'due for change' mileage, get it changed. Yes it will cost you, but if it snaps whilst you are driving it will cost you much more!
    When i first started driving 35yrs ago!!!! if my car wasn't running right i lifted the bonnet and took a look. Nine times out of ten i could find the problem and rectify it. Things have changed now. The 'modern' car is, largely, not user maintainable. Engine function and control is monitored by an onboard ECU (engine control unit) It relies on dozens of sensors all over the car.
    Assuming the car starts fine from cold (as you don't say) It sounds like you may have a problem with the fuel injection system. The only way to find out is to take it for a diagnostic check. Vauxhall can of course do this, but it's often cheaper with a private garage.
  • Options