Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Corporate Life

2»

Comments

• Options
    [quote][cite]Posted By: Leroy Ambrose[/cite][quote][cite]Posted By: bibble[/cite]One of my clients (customers?) is a Certified 6Sigma Black Belt
    WOT-UTTER-BOLLOX-THIS-IS!

Also what is Best Practice? And why is it always changing?

I worked in the private sector for years, then went corporate for 4 years, now back to the private sector.
    I get more work done now, 'cos I just get on with my job and dont need a 'course' on health and safety when I make a cup of char!![/quote]
    Ummmm...The private sector IS corporate, bibble[/quote]

OK then, smaller private companies rather than big corporate companies, I think you new what I meant!!
  • Options
    edited November 2010
    I've been out of it for eight years now. Sometimes I miss the insurance business but when I read threads like this and remember all the time wasted producing reports that were glanced over in a few seconds by the senior management and the board, the endless meetings where nothing was decided, the managers who didn't have a clue about the business, the emails from the person sitting opposite you and the often incomprehensible rubbish spurted by would-be MBAs, I'm glad to be out of it.

But the money was good.
  • Options
    [cite]Posted By: Jints[/cite]
    [cite]Posted By: Dave Rudd[/cite]
    No problem accepting that modern corporations are more productive etc, but do you believe that is due to or despite the business speak?

I was referring more to your other annoyances. I think informality and the reduction of deference are directly linked to more meritocratic businesses.