Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Albert Glickstein, Milton Keynes and "MK Athletic"

JPJP
edited November 2010 in General Charlton
Hi all, Luton Town fan here in peace.

I'm doing a bit of research into football in Milton Keynes, and in particular earlier attempts to relocate clubs there (as I'm sure you know, we nearly went there ourselves numerous times, as did several other teams). Anyway, I've heard in a few places some very vague rumours that the idea of Charlton moving there was floated during either the late 1960s or early 1970s (or perhaps both). The name Albert Glickstein was also mentioned -- I understand that he was some sort of boardroom type who threatened to move CAFC there.

I'm no expert on Charlton at all, and that's why I'm posting this note just to ask if any of you anything about this. Why would Charlton go there? Why at that time? Who was Glickstein? Why didn't it happen? Just any information would be helpful -- even if you could just point me in the way of some potential sources I would be grateful.

Cheers,

JP

Comments

• Options
    Albert Gliksten was Chairman of Charlton from 1932 until 1951, still the Clubs most successful period but wasn't on the board in the 70s.

By then his nephew (correct me on this fellow Addicks) was Chairman.

There is mention in Manager Jimmy South Stand's biography of a move to South Africa but I don't personally remember any mention of Milton Keynes.
  • Options
    Thanks for taking the time to reply, Henry Irving, that little bit of rudimentary background is helpful.
  • Options
    Albert Gliksten died in 1962. As far as I can remember the stories about a possible move to MK surfaced around the early 1970's when Theo Foley was manager. Some rumours that it was dreamed up by someone in the press and the story disappeared as quickly as it had arrived.
  • Options