Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Italia 90 - were you there? Recollections wanted for football book

Hi there,

I'm a journalist writing a book on how football has changed since the 1980s. I would be very keen to hear from any fans who went to Italia 90 and who would be happy to share their memories of that summer.

Specifically, it would be good to hear how supporting England changed during that tournament: from being hard work through the dark days of the 1980s, to being a bit of a laugh, and something to be proud about.

Any contributions would be fully credited.

Many thanks,

Ade

Comments

• Options
    [cite]Posted By: Ade7[/cite]Hi there,

I'm a journalist writing a book on how football has changed since the 1980s. I would be very keen to hear from any fans who went to Italia 90 and who would be happy to share their memories of that summer.

Specifically, it would be good to hear how supporting England changed during that tournament: from being hard work through the dark days of the 1980s, to being a bit of a laugh, and something to be proud about.

Many thanks,

Ade

LOL, not worked out an angle yet then
  • Options
    I've got the angles, thanks. Just need some first-hand accounts of Turin, Naples, Cagliari, etc
  • Options
    [cite]Posted By: Ade7[/cite]I've got the angles, thanks. Just need some first-hand accounts of Turin, Naples, Cagliari, etc

yes, I could tell you'd already decided the angle as you've set it out in your first post. ie Football was a minority sport, fans were marginalised but everything changed at Italia 90 and then we all loved football.
  • Options
    Not contributing then Henry?
  • Options
    Interesting subject bearing in mind that one of the best football books ever (All Played Out) covers Italia 90 albeit from a different angle,
  • Options
    edited January 2011
    [cite]Posted By: Off_it[/cite]Not contributing then Henry?