Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

music cassettes to my imac computer

does anyone know the best way to transfer music cassettes ( before you say it, yeah, i know i'm old ) to my imac computer. is there an economical way of doing this, i'm strapped for cash at the moment, so can't shell out " loads of money " as harry would say.

any info, tips much appreciated.

thanks

Comments

• Options
    You can buy cassette decks with a usb connection... but that involves shelling out. Alternatively, you may be able to connect you deck to the imac if you have the right lead. I'm not an imac expert, so I don't know what software you'd need to do the actual transfer, but Ken from Bexley may know - he's had macs for years.
  • Options
    i want to transfer my old tapes to my computer too mate! my songs on tape you cant get on i-tunes!! :)
  • Options
    uie2, if you have a line in or microphone input, on your computer you need a lead from your deck and some software - what I use is two utilities I got free with a magazine, they're called "LP Recorder" and "LP Ripper" - I don't know if they're still available, but maybe there are some modern equivalents.
  • Options

have you searched on youtube for the music you have on cassette?

if it's on there, then i think you can get a free download to convert to mp3.

• Options
    edited June 2011
    Audacity is a common free software that you can download for Mac OSX. It can be a bit fiddly at first but you get used to it, I've
    used Audacity for Tapes and Vinyl.

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/beta_mac

Follow the link for instructions to record, although they're quite detailed. There are probably more concise ones on the Audacity site.

http://wiki.audacityteam.org/index.php?title=Transferring_tapes_and_records_to_computer_or_CD