Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Where were you when we (nearly) went bust?

edited February 2007 in General Charlton
1984 - does anyone know the exact date, I think it was sometime in March? I was a student, and spent the whole day with the radio glued to my ear waiting for news from the High Court. Finally heard we'd been saved with a few mins to spare. There was a "Spring Event" on at college that evening - lots of drinking and dancing, and I went mad celebrating that I still had a team to support.

Comments

• I was nine, but I remember it being a big deal on telly - well, the News At 5.45, anyway. First time I can remember us on the telly other than watching the scores come in!
  • I found out walking home from school and seeing the back of an Evening Standard, then watching Thames News in the evening.

Was funny watching the Sunley mob piling into wee Richard Collins's roller like the Anthill Mob.
  • I was working at Barclays Bank in Greenwich at the time, we used to have to send a member of staff to the Charlton Branch to help count the clubs takings on Mondays. There was always some rumour going round that the club only used to bank a percentage of the takings and keep the rest in cash in those days.
  • [cite]Posted By: DJ Davey Dave[/cite]I was working at Barclays Bank in Greenwich at the time, we used to have to send a member of staff to the Charlton Branch to help count the clubs takings on Mondays. There was always some rumour going round that the club only used to bank a percentage of the takings and keep the rest in cash in those days.

That's why the official attendances were so low - there were 14,500 of us really, not 4,500....a good tax dodge too!
    (winky, smiley thing)