Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

America's broke!

I was thinking. If the average American decided to cut their weekly food bill in half for two weeks and gave the money they saved to the state, would this not solve the problem?
Bit of a bummer if you work for Dunkin' Donuts.....But dem da breaks!

Comments

• Options
    I was thinking. If the average American decided to cut their weekly food bill in half for two weeks and gave the money they saved to the state, would this not solve the problem?
    Bit of a bummer if you work for Dunkin' Donuts.....But dem da breaks!
    Genius.  Have you thought about a career in Economics?
  • Options
    I'm not a economic expert but with Greece latest "bailout" and this it's only a matter of time before the money finally runs out and they are just delaying the inevitable?

Seems to me we are just going round in circles...Obama and co will agree something before next week though, they have to.

• Options

I work in finance, but actually have very little interest in economics and dont really understand the complexities of it all

The one thing I dont really understand is, if everyone and every country is borrowing money, surely someone, somewhere is owed an absolute shed load of cash.

If for example this was some rich arab state. Couldnt the world just knock them and start again. No debts and no problem.

Obviously the arab country would be screwed over, but let's call that collateral damage!

• Options
    The problem is that all these bailouts and rescue packages are using money borrowed from banks. They're pretty much just creating more money to save someone each time. It cant work. How do you get out of debts that large by creating more debt? 
  • Options
    Love how 'printing money' quietly became 'quantitative easing'.
  • Options

I work in finance, but actually have very little interest in economics and dont really understand the complexities of it all