Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

NEW ARTICLE: Referees Vs. Liars

13»

Comments

• Options
    As someone on here alluded to earlier, referees can be like teachers. Unfortunately I'm both, though fortunately being a PE teacher hopefully I'm seen in the 'cool' camp. Though I doubt it. There are similarities however. As a teacher I want nothing more than a good lesson, one that is enjoyable and everyone gets something from. To get this, I need the pupil to co-operate; to manage their behaviour and to play their part. If they don't then I have to repsond and react accordingly. I don't relish it, nor look for it. But I can't ignore it. Similarly I'm sure the vast majority of refs want a game with no incident, no big issues, no cards or sendings off. But, if the players cheat, dive, swear, feign injury etc etc then the ref has to act. A ref can only go unnoticed if the players and managers behave like adults and not kids.
  • Options
    When I was a Sunday league ref I used to have the lawbook in my sock like a shinpad, when the players wanted to tell me I was wrong I would get the rulebook out and invite them to tell me why, and where it said so! They always always shut up. The thing is the players (and I happened to ask a Kent league player today) don't know the laws of the game, and have certainly never read them. The pundits have not read them too, try ringing a football phone in and ask the panel to quote from the Laws of the Game book they have there in the studio!
    How many posters here have bothered to read them?
    Did you know for example that in Law 11 (offside) It does not say that the ball has to have been played FORWARD? (look it up).