Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Taekwondo Selection Controversy

Does anyone know what this is about?

As far as I can tell Britain has the number 1 ranked under 80Kg fighter in the world but he has been left out to accommodate the number 59 ranked fighter who has dropped down a weight category or two and in fairness was ranked far higher than 59 in the heavier categories.

Seems a strange old business though so can any Taekwondo fans shed any light?

Comments

• Options
    edited June 2012
    I am no expert but the justification is as follows as I undestand it from a Radio 5 feature. The scoring system has been changed and the way that the world no. 1 gets his points scores less with the new rules (with his head, I think). Therefore, the selection committee claim that the number 59 is more likely to win. The No.1 rightly claims that he will play a different game with the new scoring, but the committee or powers that be have turned down two appeals. Strange, indeed.
  • Options
    A report on Radio 4 [always the best station for sport ;-) ] about a fortnight ago suggest that it was because the number one guy had changed is training regime. He felt that the new system would help him to be a better fighter, but the FA (or whoever it really is), took exception to the fact that he'd removed himself from their fold.
  • Options
    What about the bloke who didn't get picked because they never had his phone number, so they emailed him and told him he had missed out !

Not sure which sport it was, but def team GB

You couldn't make it up.
  • Options
    A report on Radio 4 [always the best station for sport ;-) ] about a fortnight ago suggest that it was because the number one guy had changed is training regime. He felt that the new system would help him to be a better fighter, but the FA (or whoever it really is), took exception to the fact that he'd removed himself from their fold.