Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Website design

Hi Chaps und Chappesses
I am thinking of learning how to become a website designer but have little knowledge on how to go about it. Google has been my first port of call and have had a quick scan of the Dreamweaver tutorial which seems fairly straight forward(ish) - Youtube is excellent. But my main question is whether I have to obtain a domain before I can learn how to design a template in order to find out whether I have the ability for web designing? My other questions is, is Dreamweaver CS5 a reasonable software to start with or should I go for the latest CS6. Is there a better cheaper option as a complete novice?
Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers
Solidgone

Comments

• Options
    edited November 2012
    Have you got Skype or anything? I may be able to provide some pointers.

For just design you don't need a domain - you can just do it all on your own computer; if you get a collection of designs you want to share then it's best to look at hosting and a domain. One.com do a pretty good no frills package at a brilliant price.

Dreamweaver CS5 is good, I can't remember the primary additions to CS6 but I think a few of the features were aimed at mobile development. There's nothing you're going to miss with CS5.

As for cheaper options, Adobe sell the premium bells-and-whistles packages. I'm a web developer, and you'll be surprised at how little exposure I've been required to have with Adobe products. Surprisingly Dreamweaver can be good to begin with though, as despite the amount of features, it can be useful for providing some of the syntactic stuff that gets annoying after you've been typing it a thousand times! Similarly, features like auto-complete are good.