Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Joining a local football team

I am about to start and internship in London, which is 6months long (slave labour!), so am going to be staying with friends and family, splitting time between Abbey Wood and Blackwall. I was wondering if anyone could recommend any good local football clubs I could look into joining.

I am going looking to join with a mate, we are both 24, we are not too fussed about standard, we both played district football at school, but I have been playing hockey at university for the last 5 years, and he is a was goalkeeper now looking to play outpitch. (Although he has just done a marathon and I have just done a half, so we are reasonably fit.) Our priority is to find a club with a good bunch of blokes, and where their is decent training as well as matches.

Thanks for any advice or recommendations you can offer.

Comments

• Saturday afternoon or Sunday morning team?
  • Sunday mornings would probably be preferable.
  • If you are reasonably quick with a good engine and able to pass the ball to a teammate successfully most of the time, give Charlton Athletic a call. They have 4 midfield places that need filling.
  • If you are reasonably quick with a good engine and able to pass the ball to a teammate successfully most of the time, give Charlton Athletic a call. They have 4 midfield places that need filling.

Fantastic.