Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Accountancy Qualifications

edited February 2013 in Not Sports Related
Hi,

I currently work as a Local Government Officer (Housing/Benefits for my sins) but with the world of local government and especially welfare benefits changing and becoming increasingly volatile, I'm likely to get made redundant in the next 12 months or so.

I'm thinking of planning for this in advance by doing some extra qualifications at college in the evenings. A mate of mine is doing the Association of Accounting Technicians (AAT) Level 2 Certificate.

Given that I work in a financial climate that has links to accountancy I'm thinking of taking the plunge and doing this course.

Does anyone else know anything about this course? I'm really interested in whether it's actually work doing and whether it is respected by employers.

Any guidance of thoughts would be really useful!

Thanks,

Comments

• Options
    I can't advise you re the Public sector I'm afraid.

In the Private sector it's like any qualification.

If you have it it means nowt if you don't have it it's regarded as the most important thing since sliced bread!

A full AAT qualification indicates a certain theoretical level of ability so is marketable at a junior level but, in my experience anyway, employers tend to be more impressed by people studying towards a full professional qualification particularly if they can get away without incurring any training costs!

• Options
    What Lenny said ... If you're not a graduate it's a good first step towards a full accountancy qualification (ACCA or CIMA) and will give you a fair understanding of what it means to be an accountant.
  • Options
    AAT is great if you havent got a degree.
    If you've got a degree, jump straight to CIMA or ACCA :)
  • Options