Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Looking for someone with an IT background.

I am looking for a career change and am looking for courses within IT to develop a career. I have looked into a number of courses from BTEC level 2 computer engineer followed by BTEC level 3 advanced diploma in network design and admin to Cisco CCNA. I studied sport science at university which finished last year but but as there are limited areas to work within I have been working as a self employed Data Engineer (cabling). I am looking to start off with the basics and build upon them. If anyone can comment on a qualification path to take please do so.

Comments

• Options
    You're not able to do anything in IT unless you use a recruitment agency. Apparently. ;-)

Good luck - there are plenty of people on here who should be able to help you.
  • Options
    edited March 2013
    IF your looking at doing networking deffo start with your CCNA

If your looking at doing support then have a look at Microsoft Qualifications...MSCA, MCSE

I would do one or 2 of the BTECs just so you get a base knowledge of general IT, good luck...there are jobs about but a hell of alot of people after them as well.
  • Options
    Can't help with the IT but I did help someone on here get a job using their sports science degree.

Inbox me if you're interested (I'm not a recruitment consultant, honest)
  • Options
    Ashdown, out of interest where did you do you Sports Science. Was it at Christchurch?
  • Options
    Thanks for the replies, I did in canterbury. Which is scary that you know that unless you went there as well. I will continue looking for the best place to start.
  • Options