Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Whats a fair price?

For a 16-18 year old leaving home at 5.15 am and getting home at 5.00pm approx..

Picked up and dropped off at there door.

Work will commence say 7.30 be finished 2.30-3.00pm

What would you say is fair price for these works.

Comments

• Options
    £80 at most I'd say .

When I was an apprentice I got £25 but that was in 1990
  • Options
    What would he be doing?
  • Options
    Living wage is £8.80 ph in London and £7.65 ph in Kent
  • Options
    I would say £75 if they're getting picked up, assuming they're an apprentice as that's £10/hour if they stay until 3pm.
  • Options
    £60 at the most
  • Options
    I would say about £60-£80 per day but it depends on the job. It looks as if they/you are travelling for over 2 hours each way or a total of over 4 hours a day so whatever the wage if it does not pay for travel time it will not seem enough as that is a long day.
  • Options
    They would be labouring originally and if showing enough interest they would be trained into the aspect of roofing we all felt was most suited to them.

Travel does seem to be the main bug bear.

Our older roofers (obviously paid differently) are used to it but the younger lads don't seem to last.
  • Options
    Sounds like you are in the roofing game so have a rough idea, If not Delroofer gets on here so he might be able to comment. Edit the title to include the word "roofer" and Del will see it.
  • Options
    edited November 2013
    £60
  • Options
    £12.50
  • Sponsored links:

• Options
    £50
  • Options
    £60.00 is what they get but many don't seem to hang on because they can get more elsewhere short term.

I was just interested to see if many thought for that length of day it was a fair price I can see both sides of the argument and at times it does seem harsh, but in reality they don't start earning till they are on site.
  • Options