Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Beer Break

Usually give it a miss anyway in January.
Even more so now that as I type, my head is pounding.
Anyone else having a sober month?

Comments

• No way!
  • I've been doing it for years. A medic told me your liver benefits from a three week holiday. After a couple of weeks I find I sleep better ( more deeply). I try to avoid pubs completely. Continental beers with their foaming heads look so beautiful...
  • A break? I'm just getting started!
  • No chance.
  • edited January 2015
    I've got a toddler and am decorating aour new house most evenings at the moment - I take a month off without realising half the time.
  • I'm going dry for January. I've done it for about seven years now. It's easy for the first week then gets harder and I normally cave-in a few days early. I also give up crisps and chocolate.
  • Nope, few beers today
  • Uboat said:

I'm going dry for January. I've done it for about seven years now. It's easy for the first week then gets harder and I normally cave-in a few days early. I also give up crisps and chocolate.

That is especially tough if you give up chocolate too. Apparently because alcohol contains sugar, we are likely to seek out the sugar elsewhere when we give up alcohol.

I also give up coffee, but usually start back on that in the third week, as a reward to keep going on the abstinence.
  • Thought only girls did a "dry January"
  • My wife's birthday is in the middle of January and of course there is Watford away, so no not me. I'll be on the sauce as usual this month!
  • Sponsored links:

• edited January 2015

Usually give it a miss anyway in January.
    Even more so now that as I type, my head is pounding.
    Anyone else having a sober month?

Pathetic.
    ;-)
  • edited January 2015