Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Harper Lee to publish second novel

55 years after To Kill A Mockingbird. Loved that book.

Harper Lee is to publish her second novel - 55 years after To Kill A Mockingbird.
Go Set a Watchman, a novel the Pulitzer Prize-winning author completed in the 1950s and put aside, will be released on 14 July, her publishers said.
It is essentially a sequel to To Kill A Mockingbird, featuring Scout Finch as an adult - although it was actually written first.
Lee's editor persuaded her to rework some of the story's flashback sequences as a novel in their own right. That book became Mockingbird.
"I was a first-time writer, so I did as I was told," said the author in a statement. "I hadn't realised it [the original book] had survived, so was surprised and delighted when my dear friend and lawyer Tonja Carter discovered it.
"After much thought and hesitation, I shared it with a handful of people I trust and was pleased to hear that they considered it worthy of publication. I am humbled and amazed that this will now be published after all these years."

Comments

• Options
    I have a suspicious mind .. I always believed - with no evidence whatsoever - that her childhood friend Trueman Capote wrote TKAMB and gave it to Lee as a thank you present for her friendship, she was Capote's only real friend and companion .. of course, we will never know
  • Options

I have a suspicious mind .. I always believed - with no evidence whatsoever - that her childhood friend Trueman Capote wrote TKAMB and gave it to Lee as a thank you present for her friendship, she was Capote's only real friend and companion .. of course, we will never know

I hope that's not because you don't believe a woman could have written it. Capote had a very distinctive writing voice, think that idea is a bit far fetched.
  • Options

Interesting, is there anything in particular that makes you suspicious or is it just a hunch ?