Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Charlton Fans Protest Fund - Launched !!!!!!!

2»

Comments

• Options

I am also not a qualified lawyer but work a lot with them. From my perspective this is a group of people putting money into the hands of other people who they trust will spend it more or less wisely.

I think it would be much more complex if it were more formal, to obtain charitable status (which could be beneficial if the money got really large) would be a big step up.

Totally not required for this though.

I can see no legal issues for the people giving money to their contacts.

For the two people authorising the spend, I think your requirements as to the legality of the spend should be fine. I'm not good enough to say whether someone could complain against you if the money ended up being used for something illegal. I hope not but may be worth asking a professional.

Anyway sending monies now.

Thanks mate.
  • Options
    edited January 2016
    cabbles said:

LenGlover said:

Hopefully @Jints or @cabbles might take a look at this and express a view on any legal ramifications.

I know they both have or had a legal background.

EDIT: I have already donated, so have no concerns myself, and have given my views above but as the subject has been raised further input would be of interest if possible.

Hi Len, very kind of you to remember my education was in law. Unfortunately I never qualified as a solicitor. The one thing that does stick in memory was that everything around duty of care etc and if you're not qualified to give advice, then keep your trap shut and refer or recommend someone that can. I would imagine @Jints or @legaladdick would be a better shout.