Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Plunging in to freelance work..? (Development/DevOps)

edited February 2016 in Not Sports Related
I've decided it's time I take a step forward and look at contracting and doing some freelance work; as a Software Developer I've had the fortune to work in a few different environments so have some confidence with different roles and technologies. I also ran infrastructure for a cloud company's flagship product - so can pretty much market myself as being able to carry out technical services from conception through to deployment and continued maintenance/patching.

Although contract work is very attractive financially, it still keeps me trapped in the essence of a normal 9-5 role - something which limits my ability to try and get the above off the ground. I'm pretty sold on remote working and using co-working spaces for the social vibe.. and further networking.

That said - if I could go remote and work freelance, I'd like to devote a percentage of my time to trying to launch my own company - offering cloud based hosting with some software offerings on the side. Launching such a venture whilst a freelancer would also allow me to begin to create a network of clients who would be interested in such a business.

Unfortunately, I seem to have found myself stuck in a bit of a catch-22... my current "network" - as it were - is obviously centred around permanent employees and companies that rely upon permanent employees. Recruiting agents are very good for contract (i.e on-site, 9-5, essentially a temp employee) work but this is something I'd rather steer away from in favour of more flexible/remote opportunities.

Any tips/advice from lifers who have made the leap themselves? I have a decent understanding of paperwork - i.e the Ltd company route, but my knowledge stops pretty short after that.

Comments

• Options
    edited February 2016