Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

The US Primary Elections (and how they work)

I thought I would start a thread doing my best to explain the US primary system, which has been all over the news, and will continue to be in the news with today being super Tuesday. This thread is intended to be informational, and explain a bizarre and archaic system for how candidates are chosen for the Republican and Democratic nominations for president.

Disclaimers: I am not a political scientist by trade, however, my first love was journalism, particularly surrounding politics and public policy, and I had graduated from University at a different time that would almost certainly have been my vocation. It is almost certain I will get particulars wrong, and I will do my best to cite sources and correct myself (or feel free to correct me) as I go.

As stated elsewhere, I am neither a Republican nor Democrat. I am far left of both, and a critic of our current political system. I will do my best to remain unbiased in this thread, and instead focus on the mechanics of the system. That said, I reserve the right to poke fun at the reductio ad absurdum or the system.

Okay, so for all six of you anoraks still interested, let's give this a go.

The U.S. Primary elections are held every four years as a way of both parties choosing their nominee to run for President. In years where there is a sitting president eligible for another term (President by law are limited to two four-year terms, or ten years total in office), such as in 2004 or 2012, primaries are largely a formality as sitting presidents usually run unopposed. This year, both the Republicans and Democrats need to choose nominees for the general election in November.