Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

When's the best time to buy Euros?

I don't mean Harry Redknapp and brown paper bags, I mean the currency, it seems to be going up and down like a fiddlers elbows and I don't know whether to buy before or after the EU referendum / and will it make much difference, any advice,gratefully received!

Comments

• Options
    4.39pm.
  • Options
    Not at this time of night
  • Options
    I am no expert but I would guess that if the vote is for in then sterling will instantly rise. If the vote is out it will call in the first instance as the markets don't like the unknown.
    I have a trip booked for after the vote so am in a similar position.
  • Options
    If you're just talking about buying holiday money then I wouldn't worry about it.
  • Options
    edited March 2016
    Well I'm watching it daily myself and of course it's very hard to judge. It bottomed at 1.26 last week and crept back to 1.30 today. The more likely we exit the more likely it will fall IMO.

I don't think we will exit, but markets hate uncertainty.

I'm buying this week. But you could always hedge your bet by buying some now and some later.

A specific Halifax credit card was also the best" rate provider" last year. I haven't checked if it still is.
  • Options
    A month or two ago.
  • Options
    When you go abroad
  • Options
    What the market doesn't like is the uncertainty.

If we vote in sterling will rise.
    If we vote out, sterling will initily fall and then rise again to same levels as would rise to after the in vote.
  • Options
    Us mug punters never win at this game, take it from me as someone who has been wrestling with three currencies for the last 20 years. And got sucked into Swiss francs just before the ******s decided they didnt want mug punters like me buying francs anymore and devalued by 20%.