Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Xmas party dilemma - to take your minds off CAFC, not happening takeovers, etc

I've been temping doing digital comms for the last 3 months and was invited to the xmas party which is nice of them however its the day after my contract ends (Monday), and they haven't extended it despite a new hire not coming until an unknown date in the New Year despite saying they might, and I wont get paid to attend (Tuesday). They did talk about extending me until I said I was taking my agency accrued holiday from next Thursday until the 2nd.

They are an OK bunch but I'm not that bothered about going to it - a sit down meal etc, if I was being paid like everyone else would be, I'd go..

What would you do?

Comments

• Go to The Millers Bexley Village.
  • yup, but I have to get there, shall I ask for travel expenses? I do have other things I'd rather be doing..

• edited December 2017
    I wouldn’t bother going. I wouldn’t even bother going in on Monday either....unless you need the money (assume you won’t get paid if you don’t go in?)
  • I would go and enjoy yourself, you never know what connections you could make for future work. Sounds like they are a nice bunch and nice of them to invite you.

Either that or go and get pissed and give the MD a Glasgow kiss.
  • edited December 2017
    Go, be nice, stay reasonably sober, you never know if it will leave a good impression for future work that you were friendly with the team, made an effort to go etc.
  • Go! Get pissed, abuse everyone, shag the office bike and make a right t*at of yourself. You'll probably find they extend your contract if you follow that sound advice.
  • Go and have a laugh. They may offer you more work (even in the future) the basis of getting to know you more on a personal level . If not you've lost nothing
  • razil said: