Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Back To Grass Roots

edited June 2007 in General Charlton
Do not get me wrong i enjoyed our time in the top flight!Well most of it!But the fixtures for next season are giving me a real buzz.
I crave the likes of palarse,cardiff,hull,blackpool,pne etc,for me it takes me back to my early days of following Charlton as iam sure it does for many others!The days then were low crowds due to lots of reasons.
I am very proud to support Charlton and role on the excitement that awaits us!Our crowds now are something i dreamed of then!How far we have come!Be proud of CAFC

Comments

• Options
    Ps the crowds i am referring to are from the late 70's,not the 40's and 50's
  • Options
    Well Tavs, this season is certainly going to bring a change of scenery - and a new challenge.

Like you, I'm a veteran of our old 70's days and those teams were our bread and butter fixtures.
    Can't say I quite share your enthusiasm, though.......I don't really want a return to the old days.

I guess I'm concerned that if we don't win promotion at the first time of asking, then we'll be entrenched in this League for a long time and all ambition and hope will evaporate......

The CCC is a proven graveyard for ex-Premier League clubs. There's enough of them there.

We are perceived at the moment as THE big scalp of the division.
    Let's hope we are promoted before we lose our way.
  • Options
    I look back on the sixties, seventies and eighties in a Charlton context with great pleasure. I have fond memories of matches and players from those times.

A lot of that though in reality is looking back through the mists of time wearing rose tinted spectacles.. The truth of the matter is that we were a club in decline for most of that time much of the football was considerably worse than anything Curbs served up at his most cautious and that decline almost proved to be terminal.