Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Computer help

I am finally going to buy a new PC Windows 10. I am running Windows 7 on my existing PC and it's slow and Micosoft don't do updates I believe. 

I want to transfer over various programmes and files. What is the easiest way to do this? I am not too good with tech and I think last time I did it years ago I think I used Laplink. 

Any suggestions to make this easy?

Comments

• Options
    There are probably far quicker and more techie solutions but I have an external hard drive I use to back up my PC.

Just copy the files on to one of them.
  • Options

External Hard Drive is probably the best bet.

When shopping for a new PC. Try not to focus on the operating system as much but more on the processor and GB of RAM. Those two are essential to a quicker PC that is able to perform multiple tasks at once.

I would recommend starting at the minimum of Intel i5 processor and min 8GB of RAM. I think that's a good combo for a PC/Laptop that will perform to a good standard.

• Options
    Thanks for advice on a pc. I feared the transfer over would not be easy. I have never used an external hard drive before. 
  • Options

Very simple mate, just plug it in and the PC will recognise it. You then just drag and drop what files/docs you want onto that hard drive.

Plug said hard drive into new PC and transfer files over.

• Options
    Hi HardyAddick, it is very straightfoward to do as DoctorCharlton says above. 

Copying over files via a hard drive is easy, however you might need to reinstall any programs you had installed in the first place. 

Feel free to PM me if you need any help
  • Options
    It’s transferring programs, settings, passwords etc that worries me. I won’t have the original discs - will I need them? 
  • Options