Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

New Article: Jose Riga , Bob Peeters and the 90 minute manager

I have been trying desperately over the last week to make sense of the situation at the Valley . Reluctantly and although I didn't agree with it at the time I could see why Chris Powell was sacked and rather like Parky 3 years earlier I feel this was vindicated by subsequent results . Although I believe SCP would probably have kept us up ,I am not sure it would have been so comfortable and we would have had a nervous afternoon at Bloomfield Road . Riga's departure once he made it clear he wanted to stay was in my opinion baffling .

To try to make sense of this my mind went back 10 years when I studied the Diploma in Management studies and read an excellent book comparing football and business management called the 90 Minute manager http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-90-Minute-Manager-Lessons-Management/dp/0273708309 by Chris Brady and David Bolchover.This book helped me understand the similarities and differences between the two and start to grasp a lot of the concepts I had learnt about on my course because the authors gave case studies which I could understand. It also assisted me in understanding changes in modern Football on issues like rotation as opposed to the game I was introduced to in the 70's . I can never remember anyone ever speaking about rotating Flanagan and Hales. We also didn't discuss the merits of different formations in the way we do now.