Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Monitoring carer's visiting times

We've just started with paid for carers for the mother in law. It's quite clear that they log in and out on their time sheets adding 10 mins on either/both ends.
How do people prevent this ?
My thoughts are requesting them to phone me from the ma in laws landline or installing a camera, but I'm not tech savvy.
Anyone resolved this issue ?

Comments

• Are they an agency working for Greenwich Council, or carers you have arranged yourself?

if you have arranged it yourself, my first thought is that you should talk to the management straight away.
  • If it is privately funded, get them to ring or txt you from either the home phone with Caller ID or buy a cheap mobile which they need to use.
    If a mobile, it should be kept at the home, and if removed you will get an idea of something going on.
    You'll see by both the time on the call logs on the origin number and receiving number.
  • I'm sure there must be plenty of old "clocking in" machines lying around all the old disused factories........... :smiley:
  • You can get door contact sensors that can be connected to wifi so you get a log of whenever someone enters or leaves the property.

But honestly it should not have to come to that.

Call up the manager and tell them you know what they are doing and under no uncertain terms should they be submitting false timesheets and you will not be paying for time not worked.

Sadly, Googling 'carer timesheet fiddling' shows this is a depressingly common problem. Nipping it in the bud would be the best course of action.
  • edited February 2018

Are they an agency working for Greenwich Council, or carers you have arranged yourself?

if you have arranged it yourself, my first thought is that you should talk to the management straight away.

Agency working for Greenwich Council.

Thanks all. You've confirmed my views.