Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

A little help

So yesterday I was playing football and I broke my arm. I am a self-employed electrician. I got really upset as I no longer will be getting paid and being this time of year. I've had a look online to see if I can claim anything whilst being off work. However it's all a bit too confusing online. Has anyone been in the same situation and have made a claim?

Any help would be appreciated

Comments

• Sorry to hear. Do you not have any form of insurance?
  • I had public liability however it only covers injury's at work. :(
  • Any way you can lie and say you did it at work or is it not that easy?
  • Have a read up on:

•Personal Independence Payment
    •Employment and Support Allowance

Not sure how it all works but believe you may have a case for both. You'll be assessed first, though, so may take a while.

Good luck.
  • Have a read up on:

Not sure how it all works but believe you may have a case for both. You'll be assessed first, though, so may take a while.

Good luck.

You will probably have to make a claim to Universal credit (which has replaced ESA and others). At the very least you should be able to get the Job seekers equivalent of one hundred and something a week. You may be able to be assessed for the ESA equivalent amount which would top that up - can't remember the rules.

Pretty sure you won't be able to get PIP as that is about giving support for the extra costs of a long term disability e.g. care costs or mobility costs.
  • Homeowners insurance covers personal injuries as long as your policy includes personal liability coverage, and most policies do. However, not every injury will be covered by your personal liability insurance.

Might be worth checking your policy.