Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Massage guns

A gimmick or well worth the investment?  If the latter any recommendations?

Tore my calf last weekend and want to rehab it properly and just for general use after running/ football and gym.

Seem to have taken off lately but just wonder if anyone uses them/ has done and whether they recommend them or just a gimmick.

Cheers

Comments

• Yep, definitely worth it. And I work as a massage therapist! There are certain areas it won’t fully reach (👀), hence the reason that I still have a job…
  • Thanks Rylo.  Any recommendations as there seems to be a lot of choice/ any sort of price range that I'll get something decent without breaking the bank?
  • Deffo worth it. I have one it has done wonders for little niggles and aches. Good for recovery too. 
  • Thanks Rylo.  Any recommendations as there seems to be a lot of choice/ any sort of price range that I'll get something decent without breaking the bank?
    Theragun are a great brand and you can’t really go wrong there, however there are many decent options out there now so you don’t have to pay mega money for something that does a very similar job. 

Alternatives are the Renpho brand which are decent, and also Pulseroll do a really good travel sized gun that works really well. I have a Hypervolt Hyperice which was one of the first brands available and it’s good but expensive, and also a Pulseroll Percussion for mobile massage clients. Excellent for the money. 

If you wanted something reasonably priced I’d go for the full sized Renpho (currently reduced on a well know home delivery shopping site), or if you needed a travel sized option the Pulseroll Percussion or Theragun Mini. 
  • edited September 2021
    Worth it 100%

When I can be bothered to get it out! 

Has to become part of your routine on undamaged tissue, using it on damaged tissue will cause discomfort and potentially be more damaging.