Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Careers and Career Changes?

Working in IT recruitment I tend to see people who went to Uni to study something like Computer Science and then have gone onto work within the industry for the remainder of their career.

Is this normal? How many career / industry changes have the average CLifer made.

Me. Left school after A levels, turned down Uni to to try to get into the City (had a job offer but it fell through), then didn't get anywhere, worked in the Fruit Importing business for 2 years and then finally got an opportunity to work as a FX Broker. Did that for 8 years, burnt myself out and got fed up with the "life style" and have now been in IT Recruitment for 7 years.

What about others? Have you followed the dream or still trying to work out what your dream is?

Comments

• Options
    edited December 2006
    I studied music to age 22 (Post grad), performing mainly on the Classical side, then realised after 3-4 years that i really didn't want to make my living that way.

Went into financial services and eighteen years later now run my own Mortgage broking business
  • Options
    Left school with CSE's. Done two years of an electrical apprenticeship then ten years in an oldie worldy paper mill making hand made paper. The mill closed nearly twenty years ago and my cousin got me a job running and joining telecoms cables and then got into the more IT base telecom that I'm still doing now, working on systems, mainly IP (Mitel 3300).
  • Options
    [cite]Posted By: CharltonDan[/cite]
    What about others? Have you followed the dream or still trying to work out what your dream is?

That's a great question. I'm in the unusual position of 13 years on still being in the same office i started in, though i've changed jobs about 5 times. Have no real idea what i want to do, other than at the moment not what i'm currently doing. At 30, not knowing what you want to do is a worry.