Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Native American History

Comments

• Options
    I studied this quite a bit at college. I knew the treatment of Native Americans was bad but the more I learned, the more appalled I became. The religious self-justifications for the destruction of the indigenous population, the "Manifest Destiny" that North America was given to the white man by God to spread across and exploit, truly disgusted me.

Good job educating people on this and doing your bit to help. It's shameful that Native Americans are still being handed the shit end of the stick today.
  • Options
    Stevelamb said:

Still one of the best books I have ever read and led me on to read many many more on the Native American Indian.
    I have always wanted to go to the Blackhills and one day I will.
    Peter Gage did you ever go to the Native American Indian exhibition on the south bank many years ago, I still have the programme.

No, wasnt away of the South Bank exhibition you spoke about.

I spent 3 days in the Black Hills. Absolute stunning landscape, steeped in history ( Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, the towns built on the gold rush, such as Deadwood (death of Wild Bill Hickcock in Saloon 10 - the Badlands and Pine Ridge Rez not to far away. Avisit to Devils Tower on the S Dakota/ Wyoming border is worth a visit.
  • Options
    This campaign saw the wiping out of some 80 troopers under a brash officer named Fetterman, who bragged to his CO that with 80 men he would "ride through the whole Sioux nation." He couldn't. When the army withdrew the Sioux burned Fort Phil Kearney. As you say, it was a signal defeat for the US Army.
  • Options
    addick05 said: