Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Is Football an all weather game?

Tomorrows' game will kick off at a temperature of 30degrees C. Good training for Qatar? maybe if our players were going....
All the running around that done in a game means to me that its a cold weather game, with allowances for spring and autumn...but in this heat no way.
The EFL should allow games  on days (like tomorrows) be delayed until evening, or even better not to plan daytime KO's in Aug/Sept.
Its a serious health risk (Imo-I'm not a doctor)
Or get rid of the grass and call it beach football

Comments

• edited August 2022
    We have played beach football before in January 

• It's a good question and maybe an evening ko would be better, but having said that I hate it when it's a bit chilly, no obvious solution. 
  • What about away fans that book travel in advance? Can’t be relying on weather forecasters.
  • Games are delayed/postponed for heavy rain, snow and ice when they could play in snow shoes or ice skates or wellington boots.
    Travelling fans always get the short end of the straw, personally I wouldn't like to say "that was a cracking game, shame so-and so had heat stroke and had to go to hospital" at least I caught the last train home

• No its not... Waterlogged and frozen pitches prove that ;)

Thats one end of the scale though, like you say, what then becomes acceptable for the other end when it is too hot?
  • May I politely ask is this a debate or is this a rant? 
  • Exactly how many summers do we have like this?. We usually have a hot week or 2 for Easter and maybe another in June. This is also not a typical seaon and started 2 weeks early. 

Give it 2 months and we will have all forgotten about our record temperatures.
  • They're professional athletes. So long as they hydrate and take on sufficient electrolytes before, during and after the game they should be OK.