Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Pay at Petrol Pump

It may sound strange, but I have never used the pay at the pump facility before, but used it yesterday at a Tesco filling station.

I put the card in and entered the pin and then took the card out. I carried on filling up the car and as the machine said the printer was out of paper, drove off. Today when I checked my bank account online there is a debit of £1.00 for Tesco but nothing else from them. Reading up on the internet, I think the full amount should be showing today. I am now worried that I may have driven off without paying.

Can anyone advise if I did the correct thing, or should I have entered the card details again. 

Comments

• confession time .. I once (just the once) did the right thing at a pay at the pump Tesco .. I am still waiting for the debit to come through .. every other time at any pay @ pump, it's worked fine (Morrisons, Asda, Sainsbury Tesco etc.)
  • ^^^^ fine in that my card was debited  o:)
  • edited September 2021
  • Should the card be left in the machine until the pump has finished?
  •  No, it will tell you that you can spend up to £99 then you take the card out.
  • It may sound strange, but I have never used the pay at the pump facility before, but used it yesterday at a Tesco filling station.

I put the card in and entered the pin and then took the card out. I carried on filling up the car and as the machine said the printer was out of paper, drove off. Today when I checked my bank account online there is a debit of £1.00 for Tesco but nothing else from them. Reading up on the internet, I think the full amount should be showing today. I am now worried that I may have driven off without paying.

Can anyone advise if I did the correct thing, or should I have entered the card details again. 
    It has taken a few days to go through on a few occasions when I have used it.