Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Has anyone been to the Dominican Republic?

edited March 2007 in Match Day Travel
I'm off to the Dominican in 2 weeks time. Staying in Puerto Plata at the Gran Ventana. It's my first time in the Carribean, anyone ever been? Any tips or things to do or not to do?

Comments

• [quote][cite]Posted By: Hillsy's Up[/cite]I'm off to the Dominican in 2 weeks time. Staying in Puerto Plata at the Gran Ventana. It's my first time in the Carribean, anyone ever been? Any tips or things to do or not to do?[/quote]

Don't let Hillsy near the all day buffet
  • you taking the kids ?
  • Yep, had to get special permission to take them out of school
  • yeah went 12 year ago on my honeymoon.

was lovely then can only assume the facilities have got a lot better.

but it was as hot as gandhi's flip flop (is this allowed or is it zheng zhi racist) though some days hit 38/39 admittedly we went in August.

if you like snorkelling this place is the daddy for it really is.

Watch out for the hair braiders they could braid oakster i tell ya... they will at least try and charge ya for the effort.
  • Thanks Ledge. Looks like you are the only one of 400+ who have been. In 2 weeks there will be just the 2 of us!!
  • been there twice, Great place for relaxing etc and your hotel will probably lay on entertainment but not much for kids to do outside of the hotel. we didn't feel the need to go out much anyway as the hotels have everything on site. Lots of kids wanting to clean your shoes and begging etc which is not as bad as it sounds but take a box of pencils or something because they are happier to have a little gift than money. (The locals don't like you to give the kids sweets though as they have no dentists!!!) Have a good time.
  • Not sure black polish will look good on my flip flops!! Cheers Al.