Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Harry Pell

edited May 2010 in General Charlton
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/b/bristol_rovers/8710291.stm

May have already been posted.

Comments

• Sad conflict of feelings on this one. On the one hand hope he makes a real success of it but on the other hope that I don't end up having a feeling of regret about one of ours doing well elswhere at this level.
  • http://www.bristolrovers.co.uk/page/LatestNews/0,,10328~2083730,00.html

Few quotes from Harry Pell. As well as Bristol Rovers Gillingham and Wycombe also offered him a contract.
    "I don't think Charlton manager Phil Parkinson believed in a youth policy as much as Paul Trollope does. In my first year as a pro I made eight reserve team starts, so things were going quite well, but in my second year the reserve team folded and I went on loan to Hastings to play some first team football and to try and prove the gaffer that I deserved a place.

"I played 16 games at Hastings, and did quite well, but on my return the manager said that I wouldn't be playing first team football.

We're obviously going to have a youth policy, I think Parky just had to choose between Stavrinou and Pell, and Pell was the unlucky one. I'm sure if money was less of an issue we'd have kept both.
  • "I don't think Charlton manager Phil Parkinson believed in a youth policy as much as Paul Trollope does......

Well this is the season to get these youngsters in the squad, never going to be a better time, or more obvious....
  • It raises an interesting question. We have tried very hard to keep our academy going recently but something had to give and it was the reserve team. This means there is no opportunity to blood the youngsters. Is it therefore worth actually putting so miuch money into a team that then either goes on loan or makes a massive jump to the first team.