Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

UK Border Police - there to protect you from..er..me, it seems.

Comments

• Options
    Chizz said:

Chizz said:

@Chizz

I agree with all you said, but it seems there is a problem whereby EU countries don't automatically share with each other the criminal records of their citizens. Which is surprising when you think of all the data collecting, and the allegedly sophisticated passports we all have to carry. If the Met had known about his murder rap, they might have taken a different approach to him in the Ealing case.

I am a big pro EU citizen, but this is clearly something that needs to be tightened up. Then the Border Police could do something useful, instead of asking me questions about what kind of consultancy I run in Prague.

It's a really interesting question. Do you think EU police forces should share criminal records? And, even if they did, what could be done?
    Definitely we should share criminal records. I was surprised to hear about this problem. After all Europol is one of the EU successes, working to track down British paedophiles who abscond to Spain and elsewhere to escape justice. These bloody biometric passports could easily carry details of serious criminal convictions. That would therefore have meant that when the Met nabbed the guy in 2009, they'd have known straight away about his murder rap.
    (This is absolutely not meant to be a dig at you, but...) on the one hand, you are saying that all police forces across the EU should collect and collate all criminal records about every EU citizen and share them across ever jurisdiction without recourse to what the receiving authority might use the data for... and at the same time, you baulk at having the border police ask you a few innocuous questions.