Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Best "Resignations"

Comments

• Options
    Huskaris said:

I know what you mean about line managers, where I previously worked I was given permission to work on projects outside of my team, it was great and I managed to go to Canada for a few days and Rotterdam on a day trip. Here I just didn't have a dialogue with my manager, it really wasn't working out.

Perhaps I should point out my predecessor resigned on the last day before her probation and walked out the door that day...

I left my last job (which I should have loved as it was well paid, I was progressing well and it was a lot of fun) because my line manager was an odious prick. It's amazing the difference a reporting line can make within a corporate environment
  • Options

Huskaris I'm also an accountant. Several decades ago I started for a small outfit with 3 in the office. These days all ledgers are integrated and at interview I asked if theirs were. Yes I was told. They weren't. Boss's BS recs were just a list of transactions. He had no clue how to run a company. I walked out at end of day. He sued me for lack of notice and cost of ad. He turned up with a lawyer but wore a suit with trainers. My defence of mis-representation was accepted within qtr of an hour. Stressful though!

Yeah I found their accounting processes to be relatively annoying but at the same time relatively common (some naughty accruals, but I guess that is standard) it was more the fact that they had awful processes and gave absolutely zero training. I have never felt like there was so much "assumed knowledge" in my life. They talked to me like I knew company specifics as if I had been there for years. Never really worked in a place like that and it was a shame. Really hope they don't try and sue me haha!
  • Options
    Carter said: