Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Now this is a pay rise!!

Comments

• Options
    Hopefully she can donate to gambling and addiction charities.

Surprised she only takes £265m - why stop there?
  • Options
    She owns half of the company - unless they need to recycle the excess cash flow back into the business or make acquisitions, there isn’t much choice but to pay it out in dividends/remuneration or buy back shares.
  • Options
    Always judge a man by the company he keeps...
  • Options
    Weird. I do a lot of accounting but have to confess I have limited experience of charities accounting. It seems like that's just a massive investment vehicle with a charity attached. It's got £186m of funds/Investments, but spent £6 million in the year on charitable activities. Not criticising as £6million in charitable donations is great, just never realised how much cash these charities would keep in reserve.
  • Options

Never seen a skint bookie....

Here's one
  • Options
    Huskaris said:

Weird. I do a lot of accounting but have to confess I have limited experience of charities accounting. It seems like that's just a massive investment vehicle with a charity attached. It's got £186m of funds/Investments, but spent £6 million in the year on charitable activities. Not criticising as £6million in charitable donations is great, just never realised how much cash these charities would keep in reserve.
    The goal I assume is to enable them to make a certain annual grant target in perpetuity - depending on investment returns, ongoing top-ups etc this may only allow say 5% pa grants.

Some benefactors like to give it all away in their lifetimes (personal choice not necessarily in the beneficiaries’ best long term interest).
  • Options
    edited November 2018
    Huskaris said: