Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

The seaside.

13»

Comments

• Options
    Stig said:
    To my eyes, that line from Haveringore to Warden Point doesn't look right. I've no knowledge of these matters, but if I was to draw a line on a map, intuitively I'd pick two places with a sharper angle. Perhaps Sheerness to Shoeburyness or something like that.
    Only guessing but is it anything to do with the points where there is an absence of any measurable river flow past the beach at low tide.
    Apparently, it was the old boundary of the Port of London Authority.
  • Options
    cafcfan said:
    Stig said:
    To my eyes, that line from Haveringore to Warden Point doesn't look right. I've no knowledge of these matters, but if I was to draw a line on a map, intuitively I'd pick two places with a sharper angle. Perhaps Sheerness to Shoeburyness or something like that.
    Only guessing but is it anything to do with the points where there is an absence of any measurable river flow past the beach at low tide.
    Has the boundary changed then? I thought their authority had always been marked by a line between The London Stone on the Isle of Grain and The Crow Stone at Chalkwell.
  • Options
    There’s a tower in the water just west of Sheerness-on-sea (at the mouth of the river Medway) that has an address of no.1 the Thames, could this be where  the river meets the sea?
  • Options
    Stig said:
    cafcfan said:
    Stig said:
    Has the boundary changed then? I thought their authority had always been marked by a line between The London Stone on the Isle of Grain and The Crow Stone at Chalkwell.
    The London Stone is near Allhallows and marks the limit of the Port of London - I have walked out to it a few times https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yantlet 
  • Options
    I see that the SS Richard Mongomery is still a risk. How they found anyone to crew her back in the day is amazing
  • Options