Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

How many holes are there in a 'normal' drinking straw?

Comments

• Options
    All holes are infinite until they stop?
  • Options
    What about an abnormal straw? Why are these not considered?
  • Options
    Dave Rudd said:
    Dave Rudd said:
    Dave Rudd said:
    Was the previous thread in vain?

Next thing we'll be asking is 'Can you hear a clock stop?'.

or a pin drop!

A quite different metaphysical concept ... one makes a positive sound, the other is the absence of sound.  And therein lies the conundrum ... the detection of what is missing.

As a chemist I was always intrigued by the old school identification test for Nitrogen.  When all the other tests for gases are found to be negative, you can conclude that you have Nitrogen.  Much easier these days with spectroscopic/instrumental methods, but our forefathers were happy to rely on the detection of absence.

You might want to read up on the music of the spheres.  People like Pythagorus and Johannes Kepler firmly believed in an inaudible music generated by the celestial bodies.

Indetectable ... unless it stops, of course.  And then we'd all go quite mad.

So endeth the first lesson... B)
    First one comes free.

It's consultancy rates after that.
    If a consultancy invoice is emailed to me, but I never open it, does it really exist ?
  • Options
    Abnormal straws are vanishingly rare. Focusing on them turns the whole issue into a freak show.
  • Options
    Abnormal straws are vanishingly rare. Focusing on them turns the whole issue into a freak show.
    Typical. Avoiding the difficult questions.
  • Options
    If a tree falls over in an empty forest, does it make a sound?
  • Options
    Thought the answer to everything was 42?
  • Options
    MrOneLung said:
    Dave Rudd said:
    Dave Rudd said:
    Dave Rudd said:
    Was the previous thread in vain?