Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Lennie Lawrence- Interim manager of Hartlepool United

Comments

• Options
    Another Lennie quote : “You don’t get any luck when you’re at the bottom.”

Remarkable achievement getting us back into the top flight after 29 years while having to leave the Valley.
  • Options

The 76-year-old is the last remaining manager from the original Premier League season still in management.

https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/25240112/lennie-lawrence-hartlepool-premier-league-chris-kamara/

• Options
    Lennie did an outstanding job for us while he was here. Some lifetime highlights in some very dark days and no doubt we may even owe our very existence to him, 1984 and what happen after. I still have an autograph of his and Bob the Cat Bevins, (Palace supporter), tucked away in a draw at work. The pair of them were after dinner speakers at a Christmas works do my dad was at. 
    I worked in a factory on the Purley Way, late 80s & 90's. It wasn't the best place to work for quite a lot of that time when the local Surrey team were having a purple patch of their own. So for a time he brought a good number of happy Monday mornings.  I also remember Lennie jumping ship and then trying to poach Rob Lee while knowing we were  struggling on and off the pitch.  I don't think he holds us in the same regard as some do him. We gave him his first real big gig in football but with most things in life that happen, he happened to be in the right place at the right time, the stars aligned for him at a time when we were a bit desperate. Despite having very little resources and playing every game away he got us promoted to the top tier, that was an achievement that surely will never happen again. I'm not sure they were happy times, I remember them as an eternal hell.