Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Cyclists on the road

Comments

• Options

Ross said:

The road tax/VED debate is now invalid as there are now cars that are VED-exempt due to their low emmisions.

Its been invalid since 1937.
    Road tax. Yes.

VED. No.
  • Options

Carter said:

JiMMy 85 said:

We're trying to retrofit roads that were designed for cars smaller than many of today's, and make them useable for bikes. As a non-biking driver, I find it bizarre that cyclists think they can make it around safely. That's not a criticism - I wish we all cycled. I want to cycle. I just think it's naive to trust the plethora of douchebags, who are handed licences to drive, to not smash you with a ton of steel at 60mph. A chip on the shoulder or sense of road-belonging does not protect cyclists from steel juggernauts basically.

But as a driver I steer well clear of cyclists, and only get annoyed if they cycle two deep or bring them on trains during rush hour (fold ups get me in the knees too).

All totally well said

Before I got a driving licence I cycled everywhere and since I bought a bike a few months ago I've been out a lot. Following a fourteen year break!

I've always looked out for cyclists when I'm driving but think some of them need their heads examining the way they operate! Cyclepaths that are clear and a sensible size are fine, the ones in the road are outright dangerous. There is a national limit road on one of the routes I take and there is not enough tea in China to get me off the footpath onto that, he footpath is also a cycle path but I see cyclists on it every day and it is fucking scary as a car user let alone a soft fleshling on a metal frame!

This country will never accept cyclists like Europe has, if anything it has gotten worse or the standard of car user has rapidly deteriorated.
    Could that possibly be in part due to the number of foreigners now driving on our roads?