Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

The good ol’ days

Comments

• Options
    Another thing that often gets overlooked is bar codes (or the lack of).  They only really came in to usage during the mid 70s.  Every item used to be rung up individually before then, it could take an age to get served.  Bar codes are good.

I read recently that Amazon have several stores where you can go in, get what you want and simply leave - somehow your account is debited as you depart the shop.  Dunno exactly how that works, but some serious surveillance going on - maybe a step too far?

• Options
    edited May 2021
    As an apprentice mechanic in 1965 I made 1s11d an hour. Those were the days.
  • Options
    In 1968/9 I was a trainee draughtsman, I earned £2/week and my mum took 10 shilling (50p). I couldn’t go to university as I had to go to work to bring money in for the family. Thought that was harsh but in the end worked out well for me, ended earning far more than anyone else in my year, when I was 21 I was earning triple what people who cam out of university.
  • Options
    I’ve got a genuine one:

Buying a house, surely this was easier/better back in the good ole days??  
    Say good ole days I mean 80s/90s, low deposits and easier to get on the ladder.
    Not forgetting the 10% interest rate.

Youngsters of today eh...🙄
    I remember when my mortgage rate went down to 10%!
    Kids today dont know how lucky they are to live in a broken world economy. 
  • Options
    edited May 2021
    cafctom said:
    Interesting take @cafctom

I know I pull your leg about Q*e*n but there were a lot of great guitar bands then and imho better than them but like what you like, it's only rock and roll.

Like this lot for one

https://youtu.be/BMcVxWtELj0

One for @stonemuse and @JamesSeed

Didn't realise until this week that the line from Sound of Suburbs wasn't

"Youth club band wants to be free, now they want anarchy"

But