Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

London Overground - new line names revealed.

Comments

• Options
    edited February 16
    Great thread, classic CL.

Fwiw I didn't realise there was a London Overground until about 15 years ago, when I discovered you could go to Alexander Palace on the overground, rather only Wood Green on the underground.

It's definitely a good idea to have the underground, overground and DLR all on the same map.

So that you can womble free, presumably.

• Options
    edited February 17
    seth plum said:
    There has always been a London overground service. I am pretty sure you could get overground trains from West Hampstead when I was a student to places like the station next to Tottenham Hotspur and other places like Bethnal Green.
    Good point. 
    Spurs nearest stations are White Hart Lane or Bruce Grove on the overground & my dad took me there late 60's.
    W Hart Lane train station is also an option, but not really an easy choice from South/S E London
  • Options
    What's wrong with the traditional names?
  • Options
    LenGlover said:
    Nothing. What's wrong with new names?
  • Options
    Stig said:
    LenGlover said:
    They are based almost wholly on identity politics.

some think that’s good.

Others think that is divisive.

so not every will think they are good, and not everyone will think they are bad.

and I think that somewhat proves the point.
  • Options
    edited February 16
    Stig said:
    Stig said:
    LenGlover said:

some think that’s good.

so not every will think they are good, and not everyone will think they are bad.

In a way that Bakerloo, Elizabeth, Jubilee, Victoria and Waterloo & City aren't? 
    Correct.
    You obviously know the origins behind the names that Stig reminds us of ? If you do then your previous assertion is completely redundant.
  • Sponsored links:

• Options
    Stig said:
    Stig said:
    LenGlover said: