Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Nigel Adkins - confirmed as permanent Tranmere manager (p52)

Comments

• he does have a bit of a ned flanders vibe about him, but i quite like it.
    This is spot on 

• On balance, I think my worst nightmare would be being stuck in a lift with Professor Positive.

Reminds me of one of those dreadful evangelical born-again Christians. 

He seriously gives me the creeps.  
    When I first heard him I would agree with you. Then I started seeing it as him having a bit of a laugh. If I thought he was being serious it would freak me out a bit. Mind you, that final grin he does at the end is, most definitely, creepy.
    I guess by the very nature of what I did prior to being a goat farmer, I find that because he always uses the same turn of phrase (walking is great, birds are singing, sun is shining, let’s make the most of the day etc) I can’t help thinking he’s hiding something 😳

Have you heard him screaming at the players? I can't say I've heard him say 'Don't worry about that dodgy back pass, Pearcy, the sun is shining'.

I think it's part personality, part piss-take. Either way I can live with it.
  • Doesn't Nige sound extra happy today, happy birthday Phil by the way :)
    Might be a time to change the heading of this thread, we all know he is the manager now, and Jacko is the assistant...... maybe .."The Adkins Morning Show"
    I actually think that he sounds much the same as he does every day - upbeat and looking on the brighter side of life. And it is great that he acknowledges what a fantastic result we had last night but that we need to focus on the next game. We can't change what happened against Plymouth anymore than we could had we lost but we can use it as another stepping stone to the ultimate goal.

In fact, Adkins might well have written that great poem by Rudyard Kipling:

"If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
    And treat those two impostors just the same