Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Cyclists on the road

Comments

• Would like to use a cycle, but, living in London I think its too risky.
    As a white van man I would like to say that the majority (NOT ALL) cyclists don't seem to think the red traffic light is there for them.

most cyclists know to flee in any direction when in the vicinity of `white van man'
  • I've been driving for 50 years and have never had an incident on the road with a cyclist...I think watching Youtube idiot cyclist videos can warp your view.
  • Oh one other thing that hasnt really been mentioned.

Pot holes, man hole covers and drain covers. Every single one of them is a potential killer. Thats why we sometimes have to take a wider line when the roads are narrow.

Never mind cycle boxes - some of the bollocks you have to put up with in general is laughable. I did 75km on Sunday - from Reigate out through Dorking, down to Horsham, round Little Beeding and back up through Dorking again. During that ride, I was almost sideswiped by an imbecile doing around 80mph on the inside lane of the dual carriageway near Holmwood, had a total c*** in a BMW (quelle surprise) rearwheel me for about a quarter of a mile up a hill outside Mannings Heath, someone overtake me on a single-lane roundabout (saving himself literally three seconds and almost totalling another car using the roundabout correctly) and had a pedestrian step out into the road at random on Dorking High St, causing me to swerve - if there had been a car alongside me at the time I'd have been a goner.

It's just as bad when you're driving - but I think it's just far more noticable when you're a cyclist because you're at much greater risk of death!