Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Official CL weekend Lycra warriors thread (cycling)

Comments

• On a lighter note, I was checking my time today for the boxhill sportive and someone completed the "epic" route (103 miles) in 3hours 50mins. Does this sound like technology gone wrong to anyone else?
  • I have a moral dilemma.

As a car driver I occasionally see a lycra clad cyclist with a shoulder bag emblazoned CPFC on my way home from work.

What is the correct thing to do?
  • jamescafc said:

On a lighter note, I was checking my time today for the boxhill sportive and someone completed the "epic" route (103 miles) in 3hours 50mins. Does this sound like technology gone wrong to anyone else?

Not necessarily. They may have been riding in a chain gang. I rode in a sportive a few years ago with 5 team mates riding through and off and we averaged almost 20mph for the best part of 90 miles. Granted it was very flat and little headwind but working with others makes it so much easier. Were there other times in the same bracket or was he out on his own completely?!
  • I average around 20mph solo on a four hour ride with about 1000 metres of climbing, and I'm not that fast. 3h50 is more than do-able. From memory, one of the blokes I regularly commute home with (not actually 'with' but at the same sort of time out to Richmond Park where he peels off to Twickenham) did Ride London in about 4h10
  • I think you've got the words "menace" and "annoyance" mixed up there Steve.

Cyclists annoy some drivers because you believe you have the right to go 30 mph at all times no matter the road condition or the people/vehicles sharing the road with you.

Slow down, relax, you'll live longer. And so will the bloody rest of us.
  • JohnBoyUK said:

Menace, the lot of them.

Sick of hearing crap like that. Sorry, totally uncalled for.