Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Conspiracy theories

Comments

• Options

C4FC4L1f3 said:

Can't remember who but someone took out a massive insurance on both buildings weeks before 9/11

All this is actual fact. These are the main points I couldn't get past.

Buildings of huge value in insurance cover arrangement shock horror? That's it is it. Someone took out some massive insurance on both buildings so that's very suspicious is it? Well l'll let you into a secret, every single privately owned massive building has massive insurance taken out on it to protect the owners against catastrophic damage like, for example aircraft crashing into them or terrorist attacks. That's not a conspiracy, it's normal commercial practice and by the way catastrophe insurances run for fixed periods (like your car insurance) usually for 12 months and then get renewed or replaced.

Before you ask, I was an expert on catastrophe insurances a few years ago and the company I worked for arranged the cover on the twin towers. The main problem with the insurances were that they were arranged on a first loss basis with an automatic reinstatement provision. Post 9/11, there was a legal argument (the outcome of which I am not privy to), as to whether this was one loss or two losses. It's a legal technical point as to whether the insurance cover was correctly designed.

As regards the building collapse, the issue here is clear cut. The building was designed not to collapse (inherent strength), massive fires caused by the plane crashes overwhelmed the design. Rather like the Titanic, the designers never for saw the contingencies caused by the actual circumstances occurring. In a perfectly designed world where designers are infallible, disasters would be engineered out. As with the Titanic, they weren't.